I Missed This About Brady and Belichick

In yesterday’s post “Brady’s Six TD Passes: Are You Kidding Me?” I finished with, “It seems like I should say something about Bill Belichick, cheating and video tape here, but … forget it. They just plain dominated.”

Now I learn I was too kind. I did not see the game and wrote the post as a tip of the hat to a team I have been down on since Videogate. I didn’t have the whole story. Here’s a quote from an AP story:

“Tom Brady was flawless at the start and off the bench, too. With his team winning easily, Brady came out of the game early in the fourth quarter Sunday, then re-entered to throw a team-record sixth touchdown pass, capping unbeaten New England’s 49-28 rout of the winless Miami Dolphins.”

He actually played into the fourth quarter before coming out, and when the scrubs couldn’t dominate, Belichick actually put Brady back in to run up the score. I hear he was less than pleased by questions about running up the score. This is something Bill Walsh would never have done with his dominant Niner teams. But then Belichick bears no resemblance to Walsh … at least when it comes to ethics.

4 Responses to “I Missed This About Brady and Belichick”


  1. 1 Jaycey October 25, 2007 at 12:49 pm

    I would have preferred to see the 2nd/3rd stringers stay in, but keep in mind that the Patriots held what was supposedly a near-insurmountable lead against the Colts in last year’s AFC championship and coughed it up. I’ll bet that was in the back of their minds.

    Say what we will about class, but as long as neither of the undefeated teams has the inside track to home field advantage, I don’t think we should fault either the Colts or the Patriots for refusing to take any chances.

  2. 2 yorel47 October 26, 2007 at 3:36 pm

    I can understand this point of view. It’s just not as easy to write a column about.

  3. 3 Drawmeus November 12, 2007 at 2:51 pm

    When Brady reentered, the Dolphins had scored 21 unanswered points to make it a 2 touchdown game with several minutes to play. You tell me if that’s running up the score.


  1. 1 Brady’s Six TD Passes: Are You Kidding Me? « Sports and Ethics Trackback on October 22, 2007 at 2:49 pm

Leave a Reply

